Bacon Swiss Quiche with Caramelized Onions

Because I will be having my first child soon (only about 11 more weeks to go!), I have decided to make as many freezable meals as possible, so that I don’t have to worry about cooking for a few weeks post-birth or have to rely on not-very-healthy take out foods. So I am trying to make double portions of everything that I would cook anyway now and freeze half. So far I have managed to freeze a large bag of turkey chili, about 20 sausage rolls, and today: a quiche!

I found a similar recipe on Martha Stewart’s site about caramelizing the onions for a quiche, but I wasn’t in love with the rest of it, so I reviewed a whole bunch of other quiche recipes and created this one to suit my needs. This was actually my first time making quiche, and I found it very delicious and easy.

Summer’s Bacon and Swiss Quiche with Caramelized Onions

Ingredients:
6 Eggs
1 ½ cups Half and half
6 stripes of bacon
2 slices of swiss cheese, ripped up
1 onion, finely chopped
2 TB maple syrup
1 TB water
2 frozen pie crusts (I used Pillsbury, regular sized not deep dish – and they came in a pack of 2)
salt and freshly ground black pepper
a little chopped parsley (leaf only)

Steps:

1. Cook frozen pie crust as recommended. *(For my brand I took the package out of the freezer, separated the crusts and left them on the counter for 10 minutes, then set the oven to preheat to 400. When the oven was ready I poked a bunch of holes in the bottom of the crust (as per instructions) and baked for 11 minutes)

2. Set aside crusts to cool and lower oven temperature to 375 degrees.

3. Cook bacon over medium heat, flipping once, until crisp, about 10 minutes. Drain on paper towels, and set aside to cool.

4.In skillet, reserve about 1 TB of drippings to cook onions in and pour off the rest.

5. Add onion to drippings, and cook until translucent, about 4 minutes. Add maple syrup and water, and cook, stirring and scraping bottom of skillet, for another minute or two until no longer wet. Remove from heat. Let cool.

6. Break bacon into 1/2-inch pieces. Put 3 stripes worth of bits in each crust, spreading them evenly. Rip up swiss cheese slices and scatter a slice worth of bits into each crust over the bacon.

7. Whisk together eggs, half and half, parsley, salt, and pepper. Whisk in cooled onions.

8. Pour egg mix into pie crusts – a little at a time into each since the onions will likely sink to the bottom and you want to get an even amount of onions in each pie.

9. Bake quiche at 375 for 45 minutes. Cool 5 minutes and serve.

To freeze: let cool completely and cover with tin foil.

To reheat frozen quiche, put in oven at 325 for about 15 minutes, until heated through.

Next time I am going to try my friend Sarah’s suggestion of broccoli and cheddar for a healthier version.

About CraftySummer

I am an avid crafter living in New York City in the Harlem area just above the park. I love to knit, write, cook, draw, and in general create things --- and of course I enjoy documenting them in my blog :D Everything that appears on my blog has been written, photographed, knit, or otherwise created by me. Please do not reproduce or repost anything from this blog without my written permission. Thank you.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bacon Swiss Quiche with Caramelized Onions

  1. Mandy says:

    When is your due date? I want to meet the baby AND eat this quiche.

  2. CraftySummer says:

    I’m due January 3rd, although baby’s are typically +/- 2 weeks from the estimated date. Would love to have you here and feed you quiche 🙂

Leave a Reply

