New jobs aplenty?

In addition to my new job with the place on rockaway beach, I am also working a short two to three hour shift taking care of my friend’s daughter while she teaching her class at Hunter. It will usually be once a week but there is a potential for two shifts, which is a nice little side gig to have and will result in a rather classy reference. The kid is super cute and was very easy to keep entertained for two hours today so I think it will be good. I did find myself wishing that I had more books to read her, so I might look around through my book collection for some kids stuff. Winnie the Pooh might be fun with a two year old.

Of course Hurricane Irene is heading our way and will hit late tomorrow night, well, tonmight actually since this post will be after midnight. Rockaway beach is on lock down pretty much because they are in a flood zone so I actually have the hurricane days off! YAY Hurricane Irene! Its like the time in seventh grade when there was a huge ice storm in New Hampshire and we got two weeks off school because of it. Sure it was a bitch ass time for my parents to deal with, but awesome for me. And I am a renter on the third floor of a building that is not in a flood zone, so we should be fine.

Although I do pretty much plan on loosing power, so I am charging everything ahead of time, turned my fridge to maximum coldness, bought plenty of catfood, have some water stocked, filling the tub, candles, flash lights all that. My folks recommended that we tape down the windows, which we have not done yet but will do tomorrow before bed, particularly if it seems like the world is ending.

On the plus side the lack of electricity on Sunday will give me plenty of time to write and knit with no delicious technological distractions, so I am looking forward to a surprisingly productive weekend nevertheless. I really need a new knitting project to work on and would love to get more screenplay stuff written now that I have a production company hook up.

When it rains it pours. Busy busy busy…. But I find that I like being busy. There is a big difference with being busy and being overwhelmed, and its nice to be finding a better balance.

Oh, and because I am super into Rory McCann now I watched the Book Group which is on hulu right now (and seems to be somewhat censored, disappointingly) — it’s a good show and I was digging it but hating the main character (and her sister in the second season) and then I realized that she was Lura from Big Love. I guess she was also in House but I never watched that. Any way I like her now even though her character is crazy and has the weirdest craziest temper tamtrum style fit in the first episode (awkwardly witnessed by Rory’s character just btw) that was so uncomfortable to watch that I almost couldn’t handle it. Now I just imagine her in a prarie outfit with the hair and the facial scar and its no big deal…. Its been fun trying to find all of the stuff that Rory has been in, not all of it is easily available in the states so its kind of like a scavenger hunt.

About CraftySummer

I am an avid crafter living in New York City in the Harlem area just above the park. I love to knit, write, cook, draw, and in general create things --- and of course I enjoy documenting them in my blog :D Everything that appears on my blog has been written, photographed, knit, or otherwise created by me. Please do not reproduce or repost anything from this blog without my written permission. Thank you.
This entry was posted in general and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

