Update for May

I realized today that I have been neglecting this blog for too long!

So here is an update on what’s going on in my craftyworld:

Knit:
Working on my second all handknit doll. Her head/body/arms/legs are all complete, and all attached save for the arms. I want to design her dress before I sew them on and decide that they should have been a half an inch lower or some such nonsense.

I completed a butterfly wing mod for the pattern I am working on, but the wings are rather small compared to the body for that pattern, and I think I might just make my own butterfly wing pattern and put it up on ravelry.

Otherwise I am working on making some fairy like clothing for her with autumn themed colors.

I hope to finish her soon, because I have been wanting to make a mermaid doll, a bride doll, and a winter fairy (among other themes) but I don’t want to start them until I finish this one. I am far more project monogamous with dolls than I ever was with scarves and shawls!

Cook:
To be honest, I have barely done any cooking lately. But I have been in the mood for roasted veggies lately. Maybe I’ll get some beets to roast for dinner….

My mother made me her famous turkey meatballs when I was in New Hampshire and my husband was very jealous – so I might just have to make them for him as well.

Photo:
Haven’t taken any cool photos recently. Been too lazy to go out on photo shoots. But will rectify this over the summer on nice days!

Art:
I have been drawing a little bit again recently, and when I was in NH I bought some tax-free art supplies – mostly paper and pencils and charcoal, but also some fine tipped pens, quill and ink, and pastels. See below for how I plan to use them.

Write:
I have decided that I would like to work on writing and illustrating a children’s book since apparently it can be difficult for writers alone to find an illustrator. The base plot will have something to do with fairies and the look of them will somewhat mimic that dolls that I knit.

So that’s what I’ve been working on…. now its time to stop blogging about it and actually do it!!! Wish me luck!

And just one final note – I am almost up to 1000 hits!!! I will have to do something special with this blog when I hit the big 4 digits!!

About CraftySummer

I am an avid crafter living in New York City in the Harlem area just above the park. I love to knit, write, cook, draw, and in general create things --- and of course I enjoy documenting them in my blog :D Everything that appears on my blog has been written, photographed, knit, or otherwise created by me. Please do not reproduce or repost anything from this blog without my written permission. Thank you.
This entry was posted in general and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update for May

  1. Cartogriffi says:

    Although when you mother is friends who someone who illustrated children’s books it might not be as difficult as you think.

  2. CraftySummer says:

    good point! i guess i’ll have to write more 😀

Leave a Reply

