Pork Two Ways

Well I didn’t do much blogging this month I guess, but I did that the opportunity to cook some dinners and take some photos. I am having trouble figuring out the best way to be both the chef and the photographer.

Earlier this year I bought a mannequin head to use as a hat model for my knitting after deciding that being both model and photographer was a pain in the ass and all my photos came out looking very similar as the angles were often the same. But I do not think that purchasing a mannequin will solve the food photography issue.

My number one issue is making sure that I don’t get my camera dirty – no sticky fingers prints on this equipment! Other issues that have come up are

1. Steam blur
2. The desire to eat the food rather than take photos of it
3. Finding the best place in my apartment to photo the finished plate – there always seems to be either an extreme overabundance of light or not nearly enough. With time I am sure that I will find the perfect time, place and angle!

I have managed to take a couple fun photos to share with you all though. Amateurish at best, but of tasty food at least! I am sure that the more I play around with my camera the more my photos will improve – who would have thought that the hobby born of documenting my hobbies would end up being so in depth!

A bunch of pics of food I made this month (some of which with fellow blogger sillybaker)

A small roast chicken that I made for myself when my husband was out of town (should have cut my veg a little smaller):
DSC01579

Pineapple Glazed Ham:
With scores and cloves:
cloves in ham

With pineapple and brown sugar toppings:
pre oven pineapple ham

Fresh out of the oven:
DSC01610
Alternate view:
cooked ham

Spicy Pork Shoulder Roast
Raw, tied roast (gorgeous!):
raw shoulder roast

Spice Mix:
spice mix

Dry rubbed raw roast day before cooking:
raw roast rub

Cooked roast:
roasted pork shoulder

Alternate view:
cooked roast

Sliced pork on bun with coleslaw. Mmmm…
IMG_0150

About CraftySummer

I am an avid crafter living in New York City in the Harlem area just above the park. I love to knit, write, cook, draw, and in general create things --- and of course I enjoy documenting them in my blog :D Everything that appears on my blog has been written, photographed, knit, or otherwise created by me. Please do not reproduce or repost anything from this blog without my written permission. Thank you.
Gallery | This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pork Two Ways

  1. AnnBan says:

    Your photos are making me hungry! I love roast pork, guess it’s the Celt in me…

Leave a Reply

