Slow Cooked Pork Recipe – By Popular Demand!

One of my readers asked for my pork shoulder recipe – so I am here to oblige!

DSC01475(1)

I often don’t actually use recipes when I use my slow cooker and that particular meal was no exception. It’s been a while since I made it, but I think I know what I put into it. Here is a rough idea of how to go about making a similar meal:

Ingredients

Meat:
3 – 5 pound pork shoulder

Veg:
Bag of carrots
About 6 potatoes
One medium/large onion

Sauce:
Minced garlic
Bay leaf
Water
Worcestershire sauce
Oil or butter (or both)
Salt
Pepper
Paprika
Cumin
Curry powder
Optional: bottle of beer (strangely enough even though I usually include beer, I did not happen to have any when I made the pork in the photos)

Steps:

-Wash and coarsely chop the potatoes, onion and carrots. Mix together and toss into the slow cooker.

-Wash the pork shoulder and heat a little butter/oil in a very hot pan. Brown the pork on all sides. This will take a few minutes a side depending on how brown you want it to get. To do a 3 or 4 pound shoulder should take about 10 to 20 minutes total.

-When the pork is browned place it onto the veggies. Surround it with veggies if need be to fit.

-Now make your sauce. You will need about ¾ to 1 cups water, a tablespoon or two of Worcestershire sauce, a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, a bay leaf, oil or butter, and seasonings: (about a teaspoon of each if you like it mild) salt, pepper, paprika, curry powder, cumin and if you’d like the bottle of beer. (I tend to use a lot of spice in my dishes because the potatoes soak up some of it and my husband likes it spicy. sometimes i also add cayenne for some hotness)

-Pour the sauce over the meat. Put your slow cooker on high for 5 hours. After about an hour or two, baste the meat. You don’t want to open the cooker to baste too often though, as every time you open your slow cooker you lose about 20 minutes of cooking due to heat loss. Two or three times total over the 5 hours should be plenty.

– It might take less than 5 hours to fully cook, so start checking after about 4 hours. You want the meat to easily fall apart when pressed with a fork. Baste one more time and serve.

-(Sometimes I will do a more traditional flavored roast and omit the curry and cumin in favor of rosemary and more garlic. Or you could add some applesauce or maple syrup or honey for a sweeter dish. Remember that flavors build over time, and you can add more flavor but it’s hard to take flavor away, so don’t be too heavy handed when you experiment!)

Enjoy!

DSC01477(1)

About CraftySummer

I am an avid crafter living in New York City in the Harlem area just above the park. I love to knit, write, cook, draw, and in general create things --- and of course I enjoy documenting them in my blog :D Everything that appears on my blog has been written, photographed, knit, or otherwise created by me. Please do not reproduce or repost anything from this blog without my written permission. Thank you.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooked Pork Recipe – By Popular Demand!

  1. pip says:

    I’m definitely going to try this, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

